Vision

Generally, consciousness is associated with living beings. But what is living is itself perplexing. From viruses to viroids to prions that shake up the proposition that all living beings are made up of cells. If we say that living is what one responds to stimulus and tries its best to change its surrounding for its own advantage. So for that, a being must be doing metabolism (anabolism + catabolism). But again what about viruses in dormant stages, are they sleeping or nonliving? As once they infect some other being they become active and start the production of beings of similar kind. Also, then robots or any man-made intelligent (though intelligence itself is not clearly understood) device fits into the above criteria. Also how a complicated electro-chemical system produces such myriad experiences which we take for granted is produced, is still left unanswered. With the recent development in Machine Learning and our understanding of how natural cognitive systems work, it seems that we still have to cover a lot of unexplored paths. In my opinion, there should always be something left for speculation. That's the real source of pleasure. Let's start the quest of understanding intelligence.

Now coming to this blog, VISION the name suggests both my personal vision and the processing & understanding of various visual data. The idea of exploring and understanding and then making some cognitive systems thrills me a lot. Definitely, the process is multidisciplinary (thus is more fun). I have been planning to write blogs but I don't know whether it was me procrastinating or impostor syndrome preventing me. But yesterday I was reading Deep Learning for coders and reached a section by Rachael Thomas explaining and motivating why one should write. Therefore I decided it's now or never (though I am writing it after one day). So I am starting my blogs with my vision and in the coming blogs will be covering the summary of what I understood of various books/courses which I will be reading to explore and understand Machine Learning in general. AGI is a dream shared by many !

If you too have similar interests/vision or like ontology, feel free to connect with me. Twitter / Linkedin / Kaggle

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Himanshu Maurya by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!